#WRULou: Mount Pico de Loro

Mount Pico de Loro

This was just a day ago but I’m publishing it quick because 1) Staycationing, yay!, 2) I was able to finish post-processing photos, and 3) all thanks to the fact that I’m at my post-hike I can’t move my legs phase.

I’m sort of in a I-want-to-climb-mountains state of mind, and currently, this is my 4th legit hike. First of all: hell no, I’m not sporty. I can’t play ball like Kanye can’t hate himself. Just an outgoing person stuck in an introvert’s body. I love adventure, but I also love my bed. So I’ll probably rely on a Magic 8 ball to tell me if I’ll go out today. Second, I want to thank my dad for helping me make my travel bucket list happen. They first had different destinations in mind for this week, but I said I wanted to go to Pico and here’s me bargaining my way using the power of persuasion, all the while offering a list of country clubs and hotels nearby and *cheers music*, I got us to go! He did not go all the way to the summit with me, but he’s still there, catching his breath for doing 90% of the hike, and watched me struggle through the last 10%.

Mount Pico, also known as Mount Palay-Palay, is the highest point in Cavite. It is a relatively easy hike. Beginners. Still can’t feel my legs now, though. The trail is protected by DENR and you just have to pay a fee of Php25/person to hike. There’s an old trek for experienced mountaineers but officials said it’s prohibited now to go down that trail. A trail guide is optional and you can pay extra for one. The hike takes up an average of 2 hours one way, so that’s roughly 4 hours to and from.

Click continue reading to know more and see the rest of my photos.

This is us starting the hike. Take it from me, bring water. 1.5L of water there costs Php60! You might need 3-4L per person (either that or we just drink a lot).

I take unnecessary photos during stops.

Hi dad!

At first we were reluctant to go because it’s been raining daily, and we were thinking “What if it rains mid-hike?”. But luckily, we went early and finished before the rain started that day. It also rained the night before, but it’s all good, just right to make the soil stick better to our feet. Not too slippery. After a few breathless moments (literally), we see this breathtaking view (um, literally? Or I’m just still out of breath).

Stares into the greenery and inserts somewhere all that a That Thing Called Tadhana or any sentimental/romantic Filipino indie movie scene. By this part, it’s a camping site. A lot stay here first to rest or something (also, photos), and saw here the rest of the people who started hiking before us. There’s a family selling water, drinks, and other sari-sari store finds by this point too. You then go up the summit, and if you want, climb the monolith beside it as well.

Conquered it! Now how do I teleport back to the parking area?

I’m just too happy that I have another thing to cross off my Where To Next map/list. And I’m proud to say we did the whole hike, up and descend and all that, in just 3 hours and 20 minutes. We were the first ones to come down! Maybe that’s why my legs are immobile right now. Competitive issues. Anyway, to more adventures!


P.S. You can also read about my Mount Pinatubo hike here. Yay for Toblerone mountains!

Signature Footer

3 responses to “#WRULou: Mount Pico de Loro

  1. Pingback: #WRULou: Hamilo Coast - Caffeine Rush

  2. This is so nice, Lou! So serene. Nakakatanggal stress 🙂 And your photos are really great.

    Lou | wandersoul.co.vu

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks again! ☺️ So true. I think that’s also a reason why I’m fond of looking for new adventures/mountains to climb, challenging but it feels so surreal after. Pero masakit parin legs ko 😅 HAHA.

      Like

Leave a Reply

